Why Don’t You Want Kids?!

“So, when’s the wedding?” she mused, filling the silence that my mother left behind. I response a quick one word reply. I gazed at my cellphone to appear in the middle of something to evade further questions. “Oh how fun” she replied with a forced smile. “And then? Babies?”

“Hah!” I scoffed. “I’m never having children.” She seemed confused and almost irritated at my assertion that I wanted to remain childless.

“You’ll change your mind in due time,” she insisted. But really, I won’t. And do you know what? That’s okay. The reasons I’m bound to not offer my uterus to a living parasite, are endless. It usually doesn’t matter how many I spout off to my fellow women and mothers, the responses I receive are all the same.

“You’ll change your mind.”

“It’s a biological need for women to create life.”

I even had one woman roll her eyes at me when I asserted I didn’t want children and moan, “Careful what you wish for.”

Don’t get me wrong, I love babies and toddlers alike. To be honest, I could probably spend my entire days around them. They’re hilarious and adorable and have no filter, and that’s something I respect in another human, little or not. I have 5 siblings, all under the age of 14, and I live and breathe those little fuckers. But watching both of my parents rear children (specifically two boys each) late in life, has been the best birth control I could ever ask for. Screaming fits, running noses, brutal violence between bothers, it’s not a life I’m interested in signing up for. PTA meetings, having only mom friends and begging for a night off is my idea of anti-paradise. And I promise, I’m not judging those who sign up for that life.

And the reason I don’t want kids? All the selfish ones. I want to sleep in till whenever I deem acceptable. I want to have the luxury of dropping everything and touring South America for a month. More specifically, I don’t want the commitment. I know that sounds bad, I’m wishy washy by nature, so an over 18 year commitment seems like a poor fit for me. Aside from being responsible for another human life for a solid many years, the idea of bringing a child into an overpopulated world riddled with natural disaster, war and hate propoganda makes me nauseous.

We’ve made a fundamental shift into a culture where we don’t need to procreate for the succession of our species. Taking into the consideration that our species is more or less an advanced form of cancer, it seems only natural that maybe I should take a step back from humping to save our species. We could use a bit of die off.

So, sorry to the folks who seem hell bent on changing my mind into a life filled with diapers, raw nipples and hissy fits. I’m set in my ways of being a DINK. Dual income, no kids. Forever.

(I’ll always love babies though)

6 thoughts on “Why Don’t You Want Kids?!

  1. Of what you wrote that you hear often, “It’s a biological need for women to create life” I find the most provoking. I don’t think that’s true and not just because I’ve never felt such a need.

    Be you and don’t apologize for it:-). You have a right to live your life the way you choose, as much as a mother has a right to be a mother (written with a lot of love for my own).

    Like

  2. You know sometimes I wish we could get babies pre-grown 🙂 I know that’s very crazy but I get easily irritated by crying, whining kids. Maybe my opinion will change when I have my own kids, only time will tell!

    Like

  3. Interesting thoughts…I don’t have kids either. Although I won’t say it’s because the world’s an ugly place–there is tremendous beauty and good too if you choose to look at it. I like this post–interesting viewpoint.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

